Looking Back to Move Forward

In 2016 I was pushed to every limit I thought I had. I spent months not knowing I was suffering from the post baby blues. We moved into our first home, tackled a home renovation, moved forward with my career, and had my first panic attack in over 5 years. This year I had my first child! A year that I thought would break me turned out to be a year that made me stronger.

I’d like to say I did it all on my own. That every trial overcome was done by some deep down strength inside me that I never knew I had… That’s not true. In fact, my strength came from my willingness to let go of control and allow God to show me the importance of interdependence.

There are no words to describe how much I appreciate my mother’s help. I’m blessed to have her as a neighbor and saw her every other day before and after Jack was born (probably more). On nights where I would have a gallbladder attack and needed an emergency room visit, she was there to answer the phone and watch Jack. During our move she helped me pack, watched Jack, and allowed me to cry on her shoulder to relieve stress. She helps me see the good in everyone and that there is power in kindness.

New Years Resolution: When I’m upset with someone, choose to see the good in them first. 

Admiration is the word I’d use for my father. You could call my dad “Mr. Fix-it”. When I was a kid I thought, “Man, my dad knows how to do everything!” I’m still convinced that’s true. Sure, he’s strict, but I wish I had taken more time to learn the skills he has. His ability to make a tree into a stunning table is astounding.

New Years Resolution: to soak up all of the knowledge my Dad is willing to give and take more time to truly listen when he speaks.   

There are a lot of people out there that poke fun at their in-laws. I’m not one of those people. My in-laws are and have always been a Godsend. They are always joyful and charge through challenges like I’ve never seen before. When I was blue after having Jack, my mother-in-law talked me through some of my toughest moments. These are the people who made my husband who he is. I’m so grateful.

New Years Resolution: Try to take on challenges more gracefully. See them as learning experiences and remember that it’s just a phase. 

I gained 6 new siblings the day I married Tim. The majority of them live 16+ hours away. To them and the 6 I have near me (mine and his) I couldn’t be more grateful. My sister became my best friend in 2016. We became mothers within 7 months of each other. Her example of motherhood and grace showed me that even on 2 hours of sleep a mom can keep a full-time job and a happy life. Secretly, I still don’t know how she does it…

New Years Resolution: Hang-out (call, text, skype, visit) with my siblings more (near and far). 

I fell in love with 2 people in 2016. The first is my husband. I never stopped loving him and I didn’t think I could fall in love with him again. I watched him become my superman, rescuing me every time I needed to be rushed to the hospital, answering the phone when I needed a pep-talk, and keeping the walls up around me when I thought my world was falling apart.

In 2016, Tim encouraged our little family to take chances. We bought a house with 13 acres and a little fixer upper. We’re still doing minor updates and I’ve never been happier. I cannot wait to see where life takes us and our plot of land. Most importantly, our baby boy was born and he was/is an amazing father.

This leads me to my second love. Jackson. The tiny human that I worked tirelessly to bring into the world. I love him!! Before Jack was born I had so much self doubt. During the delivery I kept thinking, ‘I can’t do this. I’m going to die.’ Through that experience I now KNOW I can do anything.

New Years Resolution(s): 1) When I think my husband’s new idea is crazy – trust him (ask questions though). 2) Work harder to make your dreams a reality. 

I won’t always succeed; some of our best lessons in life come from our failures. 2017 will be a year of taking chances, working hard, and always keeping a smile on my face. Thank God for new years and old friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

