img_1017

First snow! Side view of greenhouse.

One of our many dreams is to have a working winter garden. Basically, a large greenhouse with all kinds of veggies to grow all year long. It’s a thrilling experience to becoming a self sufficient household… But, I need your help.

  1. What should we plant?!

My husband and I have spent a few weeks brainstorming the best things to grow in a greenhouse over the winter months. The north east is known for it’s ability to grow tomatoes, herbs, corn and soy… I’m not growing corn or soy.

Here are some things I was planning on growing.

  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Parsley
  • Tomatoes
  • Snow Peas

What am I missing?

2.  Organization

Our greenhouse looks like crap right now. The plastic has tares everywhere and we have A LOT of weeding to do. Once the initial work is done we need to work on planning out the inside space. I’d like to utilize as much as possible. Do we have hanging plants and where? Do I build shelving? How big should each garden be?

img_1014

Front

3. Heating

Lucky for me, my father has a year round greenhouse. He uses old water radiators and a wood burning furnace to heat the water. My question is, are there better ways to heat? I’m looking for cheap, not as labor intensive, and efficient.

I’m open to all suggestions! Leave your advice in the comments!

img_1019

Planning A Winter Garden

Leave a Reply

